Wreck-It Ralph

I’ve heard people refer to this as the best type of video game movie, that is, it is about the games themselves rather than just the stories that they tell.  It is for this reason, among others, that I consider this a superb movie.  I don’t want to give away too much of the plot, but it involves Wreck-It Ralph, the villain from the fictional arcade game Fix-It Felix Jr, who has started to become unsatisfied with his job.  Anyway, I also do rather like the soundtrack, which, as it seems to be with most big animated movies these days, has contributions from several major artists.  Now would be a good time to clarify: I know my entry on the “Our Teens” page says that I “don’t like modern music much” (implying that I instead prefer music from the previous century) I think that a better descriptor, in retrospect, would be “doesn’t like most modern music much.”  There are, in fact, a handful of contemporary artists and tracks that I do like.  For instance, I haven’t heard anything else by Owl City, but I do rather like the credits track they have contributed to this movie, “When Can I See You Again.”  Maybe I’ll check one of their albums out of the library sometime.  I also like Skrillex, and his contribution to this movie, “Bug Hunt”, is excellent.  Plus he makes a cameo– in the party scene at the beginning, the guy spinning the turntables is clearly Skrillex.  Anyway, this movie is available in 3D, as well, but I saw it in 2D.  Considering Disney’s generally high level of quality in most all aspects of the material they produce, I’m guessing the stereoscopic was probably done well, so if you want to watch it in 3D, feel free to, but like I said, I’ve only seen it in 2D.  Anyhow, I guess I haven’t really blogged in a while before now, so I’m sorry about that.  I’ll try to keep it up.

Comments make us happy! Remember to be respectful and polite.

