The National Book Foundation was founded in 1950 with the idea being celebrating excellence in writing. Writers judge and try to choose the best examples of writing in recently published books each year.

You can read more about their history here.

“By 1984 the Board had reduced the number of awards categories to three and, in 1987, reestablished the National Book Awards with an emphasis that the Awards are given by writers to writers. Since 1996, independent panels of five writers have chosen the National Book Award Winners in four categories: Fiction, Nonfiction, Poetry, and Young People’s Literature.”

These awards are exciting for writers, because it’s a huge honor and can introduce their work to a ton of new readers. The awards are also exciting for readers because it gives us all some perspective on who is writing really good books, and allows us to cheer for any authors we’re familiar with who are finalists or winners.

Click here to see the ten contenders for the prize in Young People’s Literature!

(Image from )

Which would you vote for if you were one of the judges?


About Petit Branch Library

We are a branch of Onondaga County Public Library located in the Westcott area of Syracuse, NY. We love our community and especially our teens!

Comments make us happy! Remember to be respectful and polite.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s